Kimchiman’s Arirang

Arirang is the most popular and best-known Korean Folk Song.  As Wikipedia well describes,  literally hundreds of variations of the song exist with simple lyrics as below.

Arirang, Arirang, Arariyo…
Arirang gogaero neomeoganda.
Nareul beorigo gasineun nimeun
Simnido motgaseo balbyeongnanda.
English
Arirang, Arirang, Arariyo…
I am crossing over Arirang Pass.
The man/woman who abandoned me [here]
Will not walk even ten li before his/her feet hurt.

A Vancouver man made this hilarious clip on youtube.  It’s even posted on one of the largest Korean Portal site, Naver.com and it seem he is already famous among Korean netizens. (And HT to the Marmort’s Hole, to his exceptional Internet surfing skills) 

Here’s clip,

The context of Arirang well melted in his facial expression. I especially like his closing! …”A ~ Cham

6 Responses to “Kimchiman’s Arirang”

  1. lookingreflection Says:

    omg, this is funniest and coolest video clip ever!
    Is it dubbed or really him talking?

    Yeah, I really love the background and how he is dressed.
    Thanks for posting. 🙂

  2. JiMong Says:

    hiLARious, isn’t it? It’s not dubbed, it’s his voice. I just checked some Korean sites and this clip is widely spreading at the speed of light.

  3. Kimchiman Says:

    I’m glad so many people are enjoying my humble 22 second clip. The funny thing is that I posted it with the expectation of just sending it to a few friends. I never expected it to be seen by more than maybe 20 to 30 people. So this over a half million thing is pretty cool!

    I just wish I had more ideas.

    By the way. For the record, my actual conversational Korean really and truly sucks.

    One request for JiMong: would you mind sending a message to ‘myoppa’ at YouTube? Just pass my email address along him, please. It’s a temporary address: myoppa@kimchiman.com.

    The reason I ask is because for some reason I am currently unable to post a message to him, and also on my kimchiman1000 channel. I don’t know why. But anyway, since we don’t have each other’s email address, and he wants to contact me, the only thing I can think of is to make a request to a third party, which would be you.

    보탁합니다

  4. Kimchiman Says:

    I meant ‘부탁합니다’. D’oh!

  5. JiMong Says:

    Hi Kimchiman,

    Thanks for visiting my site. Your message been forwarded as you requested. Can’t wait to see you next mega hit.

    Cheers!!

  6. testnw Says:

    test

Leave a Reply

